The thunder and excitement of the race has long drawn visitors to the Fair Grounds. The history of one of America’s oldest thoroughbred horseracing tracks is chronicled here through text, rare photographs, and archival lithographs.
Founded in 1872, the New Orleans Fair Grounds was originally also used for exhibitions, boxing matches, and baseball games. The Fair Grounds, now owned by Churchill Downs, Inc., has withstood hurricanes, fire, and bankruptcy and stands today as a vibrant sports and festival venue in a historic New Orleans neighborhood.
About the Author
Peggy Scott Laborde is the producer and host of Steppin’ Out, which airs on WYES-TV in New Orleans. Her professional accomplishments have earned her awards from the Press Club of New Orleans, Public Relations Society of America, and American Women in Radio and Television. She has garnered praise for her extensive efforts in conserving the arts and history of New Orleans.
About the Illustrator
Louis Hodges, Jr. is the official track photographer of the New Orleans Fair Grounds.
THE FAIR GROUNDS THROUGH THE LENS
Photographs and Memories of Horse Racing in New Orleans
By Peggy Scott Laborde
Photographs by Louis Hodges, Jr.
SPORTS & RECREATION / Horse Racing
HISTORY / United States / State & Local
103 pp. 10 x 10
137 photos/illus (color/bw)